Deepak Unnikrishnan Wins The Hindu Prize 2017 for Temporary People

Restless Books is proud to announce Deepak Unnikrishnan, author of Temporary People and winner of The Restless Books Prize for New Immigrant Writing, as the 2017 recipient of The Hindu Prize. Unnikrishnan's novel, praised for its searing prose and nuanced depiction of "guest workers" in the United Arab Emirates, was awarded The Hindu Prize on Monday by British journalist and novelist Sebastian Faulks. 


“For me, it was really important to document people like my parents in the Gulf who worked hard for their children," Unnikrishnan commented after his win. "One reason this award feels important to me is because of the eminent names along with mine in the shortlist.”

In addition to Temporary People, The Hindu Prize shortlist featured Leila by Prayaag Akbar, When I Hit You by Meena Kandasamy, The Ministry of Utmost Happiness by Arundhati Roy, and The Small Town Sea by Anees Salim. 

For more highlights, interviews with the author, and information on the title, check out our blog and bookstore. Cheers to Deepak on a well-deserved win!